The Historic Photographer of the Year Competition is open to amateur and professional photographers over the age of 18 and resident in the UK, excluding Northern Ireland. Entries closed on 15 October.

Enter for a chance to win prizes and enjoy media coverage and public exposure of your image to an audience of millions.

The entries will be judged by a panel of five judges based on their originality, composition and technical proficiency alongside the history behind the image.

Featured image: Gary Cox, Historic England shortlist 2022

The overall winner will see their work showcased on the official competition website and will receive a cash prize of £250, while category winners stand to win a cash prize of £50. The Historic England category winner will also receive up to £100-worth of books selected from the Historic England imprint.

All winners will receive a copy of the History Hit Miscellany of Facts, Figures and Fascinating Finds (published 28/09/2023).

Read our tips on photographing historic sites. See the terms and conditions before submitting your photos.

  • 1st Prize

    £250 and History Hit Miscellany book

  • Historic England Category

    £50 and £100 worth of books from the Historic England imprint and History Hit Miscellany book

  • World History

    £50 and History Hit Miscellany book